Arboricultural Impact Assessment


Upon provision of a finalised development design, we are able to produce an Arboricultural Impact Assessment for your project. An Arboricultural Impact Assessment will assess any effect which the proposed development and its construction, may cause the local tree population.

As of 2008, Arboricultural Impact Assessments are required by planning departments in order to validate planning applications which propose works near trees.

Our Arboricultural Impact Assessments consist of two main parts; a written appraisal and an Arboricultural Site Plan (ASP).

Arboricultural Impact Assessment

As well as assessing the development’s potential for harming nearby trees, our Arboricultural Impact Assessments also specify specialist construction methods which will allow for development within the, usually off-limits, root protection areas (RPAs) of retained trees. This can be an invaluable approach for allowing a project to meet its full potential.

In this section of the report we also take into account the workability of the site during construction, and advise on the location of access routes, working space, and office areas.

Arboricultural Site Plan (ASP)

This details tree locations, root protection areas, and canopy spreads. In this plan, trees will be marked with their BS5837 category designation (“A”, “B”, “C” or “U”) and those selected for removal will be clearly identified by a dashed canopy outline.

We pride ourselves in our ability to produce accurate, uncluttered plans; an area where many of our competitors fall short. We achieve this with the help of our in-house, AutoCAD certificated CAD technicians. This ensures that as well as producing visually appealing drawings, digital copies provided to the project’s design team are well structured and  labelled.

The Next Step...

If you would like more information, or wish to be provided with a quote, please do get in touch…

Frequently Asked Questions...


Where do you cover?

We provide tree consultancy services in East Anglia, including Bury St Edmunds, Cambridge, Norwich, and throughout Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Norwich and Essex.